Tables and stage at the 2018 Gryphon Athletics banquetAfter a long season of sweat, pain and both heartbreak and elation, the University of Guelph’s athletes dressed up to receive well-deserved recognition for their efforts. A crowd of more than 800 descended on the Guelph Gryphons Athletics Centre for the annual Gryphons Athletic Banquet, with every varsity team represented.

In a year in which the storied Gryphon track and field program had its best season ever, it was only appropriate that two OUA and U Sports champions were recognized as Female and Male Athletes of the Year. Fourth-year hurdler Sarah Hammond won the women’s award, while fifth-year middle distance star Tommy Land was named the men’s winner for the second year in a row.

Congratulations to this year’s award winners:

  • Male Athlete of the Year: Tommy Land (track and field)
  • Female Athlete of the Year: Sarah Hammond (track and field)
  • “Gryphie” Moment of the Year: “Hinch lifts Gryphs to victory” (women’s soccer)
  • W.F. Mitchell Sportsman of the Year: Scott Simmonds (men’s hockey and rugby)
  • W.F. Mitchell Sportswoman of the Year: Celeste Noble (Nordic skiing)
  • President’s Trophy (Male): Jeremy Seed (men’s rugby)
  • President’s Trophy (Female): Sarah Hammond (track and field)
  • Fred Ramprashad Award: Andrea Cimino (women’s soccer)
  • Don Cameron Award (3-year M.I.P.): Job Reinhart (men’s wrestling and football)
  • Shirley Peterson Award (3-year M.I.P.): Emilie Nicholl (women’s rugby)
  • Scott Yanchus Male Rookie of the Year: Todd Winder (men’s hockey)
  • Dr. Mary Beverley-Burton Female Rookie of the Year: Morgan Byng (track and field)
  • Gunner Obrascovs Trainer of the Year: Alida Carlin (women’s basketball/men’s rugby)
  • Cathy Rowe Manager of the Year: Terry Pham (men’s volleyball)
  • Dr. John T. Powell Award: Dave Neill (women’s rugby)

Read more about this year’s winners and banquet highlights.