Student Life Awards Recognize Community Members


Student Life held its annual awards presentation March 20 at a banquet that began with a traditional aboriginal opening. Guests and award recipients were welcomed by U of G president Alastair Summerlee and Guelph Ward 5 councillor Leanne Piper. The keynote speaker was former associate vice-president (student affairs) Brian Sullivan, who is now senior adviser for alumni engagement at the University of British Columbia.

The Student Life awards honour leadership within the University community and recognize individuals who have had a positive influence on campus life. The following awards were presented:

Accessibility Award: Julia Forster, academic and university affairs commissioner in the Central Student Association, arranged for more accessible seating in the University Centre, Dog Days to promote education and awareness of service dogs, and “A Day in a Chair” event.

André Auger Citizenship Award: Veterinary student Evan Bell was involved in community development and awareness activities both on and off campus.

Be the Change Award: Recognition went to Right to Play, a U of G chapter of an organization that uses play and sports to help children and youth in disadvantaged communities; Haley Duke and Ellen Sparling, who filmed themselves collecting coats and sweaters to donate to a local women’s shelter in Guelph; and the Marathon of Sport, organized by human kinetics students Souhail Rostainajad and Michael Osmond to raise money for the Special Olympics Canada Foundation in partnership with Motionball.

Brian D. Sullivan Student Leadership Award: Graduating student Samuel Mosonyi has been actively involved in the Political Science Society, judicial committee, Student Senate, and the College of Social and Applied Human Sciences student government, working to make administrative processes more open for students.

Emilie Hayes Award for Community Partnerships: Linda Busuttil, a neighbourhood support worker in the Willow West Village, has engaged students through events, research programs and individual volunteer opportunities.

Gordon Nixon Leadership Award: Recipients were Vote Campus, a long-term project dedicated to encouraging young Canadian voters to become actively engaged in the political process and the Student Food Bank garden that will break ground this spring.

Kishaadigeh Aboriginal Student Award: Cynthia Hoy is an involved aboriginal student leader with the Aboriginal Resource Centre and the Aboriginal Student Association.

Roberta Mason Award: Rishi Dubey participates in supported learning groups and Student Senate and started a meditation and yoga club.

R.P. Gilmor Student Life Award: Graduating student Anita Acai increased student involvement and helped other students develop the self-confidence to be successful in university. The Gilmor staff award recognized Sally MacLachlan, administrative assistant in the Department of Population Medicine, who goes above and beyond to organize volunteer and service opportunities for students, staff and faculty.

Central Student Association Teaching Excellence Award: Plant agriculture professor Hugh Earl uses innovative teaching methods to captivate his students.