Gryphon Women Win Hockey Championship, Track and Field Athletes Bring Home Silver


The Guelph Gryphons women’s hockey team won the provincial championship on home ice this past weekend, defeating the Western Mustangs 5-1 to win their first Ontario University Athletics (OUA) title since 1998.

At Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) championships in Toronto on the weekend, both men’s and women’s track and field teams won silver, and numerous team members won individual medals.

The Gryphons won the OUA gold-medal game 5-1.

The Gryphons won the OUA gold-medal game 5-1.

At the Gryphon Centre Arena, the women’s hockey team jumped out to a 3-0 lead before Western scored their only goal at the end of the first period.

Two more goals in the second period put Guelph in full control, and the Gryphons held Western to just 15 shots before hoisting the McCaw Cup.

Kaitlin Lowy led the way with two goals. Christine Grant (two points) and first team OUA All-Stars Leigh Shilton and Averi Nooren (two points) also scored for the Gryphons, while OUA Player of the Year Valerie Lamenta made 14 saves.

The women’s team will now head to nationals.

The men’s hockey team lost the OUA bronze medal match 4-1 against Carleton in Ottawa.

At the Canadian Interuniversity Sport track and field championships, the men’s and women’s teams capped off a strong year, with each team finishing second overall.

The University of Windsor Lancers men’s team and the University of Toronto women’s team each won gold.

Katelyn Ayers won silver in the women’s 1,500-metre race and bronze in the 1,000 metres.

Tommy Land finished third in the men’s 600-metre race, and high jumper Maja Naruszewicz also brought home a bronze. The all-rookie squad of Katie Sieling, Hailey Hitchings, Tiana Sinnatamby and Nicole Smith captured a bronze in the women’s 4×200-metre relay.

Jared Skeath (men’s weight throw) and Sean Cate (men’s high jump) won gold, while Sarah Hammond (women’s 60m hurdles) and Ashley Connell (women’s shot put) won silver.

Bringing home bronze medals were Jackson Cheung (men’s 60m hurdles), Katrina Allison (women’s 3,000m), and Emily Gordon, Cheryse Mitton, Janelle Hanna and Sophia Watts in the women’s 4×800-metre relay.

Kyle Thompson also won bronze in the men’s 60-metre race.