International Indigenous cultural tourism leader Keith Henry will be endowed with an honorary degree and internationally renowned Scottish history scholar Dr. Elizabeth Ewan will be named University Professor Emeritus during fall convocation, Oct. 10.

Fall convocation will bring more than 650 graduates across the stage in the event centre at the Guelph Gryphons Athletic Centre starting at 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 10.

A man stands in a blue suit and blue collared shirt with brown hair looking into the lens with a streetscape behind him.
Keith Henry

Keith Henry

Henry, who is Métis, has passionately advocated for Indigenous tourism in Canada giving Indigenous-owned and -operated organizations places to share their stories in their own words.

President, CEO and co-founder of the Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada, Henry is also a former BC Métis Federation president, leader of the Native Education College, the Industry Council for Aboriginal Business and the BC Aboriginal Business Association.

In 2019, Henry was executive-in-residence in the School of Hospitality, Food and Tourism Management at Lang, sharing knowledge and experience to improve Indigenous economic development.

A woman stands in a white collared shirt with her arms crossed, smiling at the camera, against a backdrop of bookshelves.
Dr. Elizabeth Ewan

Dr. Elizabeth Ewan

A professor in the Department of History in the College of Arts since 1988, Ewan led the Centre for Scottish Studies becoming an international ambassador for U of G. She is a former University Research Chair in History and Scottish Studies who created the Women in Scottish History website and co-edited, The Biography Dictionary of Scottish Women.

Widely recognized as an expert on medieval Scotland, Ewan has transformed the field focusing on women and gender history. Her efforts to secure a $1.1 million donation led to the establishment of the first privately endowed Chair of Scottish Studies in North America.

Convocation ceremonies schedule:

  • 9:30 a.m. – College of Biological Science
  • 9:30 a.m. – College of Engineering and Physical Sciences
  • 9:30 a.m. – Ontario Veterinary College
  • 1 p.m. – College of Arts
  • 1 p.m. – College of Social and Applied Human Sciences
  • 4:30 p.m. – Gordon S. Lang School of Business and Economics
  • 4:30 p.m. – Ontario Agricultural College