Presidential Selection Committee Named


The membership of the University of Guelph’s Presidential Selection Committee has been confirmed. The committee will conduct a search and recommend a candidate to the Board of Governors, which is responsible for appointing the University’s president.

The 10-person Selection Committee includes:

  • three tenured faculty, two students and one full-time staff member, all elected by the University’s Senate
  • one member, named by the U of G Alumni Association (UGAA)
  • two external members of the Board of Governors, appointed by the Board
  • the Board of Governors chair, who chairs the selection committee

The Presidential Selection Committee is composed of:

  • Shauneen Bruder, Board chair and chair of the Presidential Selection Committee
  • Rich Appiah, Board member
  • Nancy Brown Andison, Board vice-chair
  • John Cranfield, associate dean (external relations), Ontario Agricultural College
  • Christina Crowley-Arklie, UGAA vice-president (external)
  • Lindsey Fletcher, undergraduate student, bachelor of science, College of Biological Science, and bachelor of arts, College of Social and Applied Human Sciences
  • Danyelle Liddle, graduate student, College of Biological Science
  • Tami Martino, Department of Biomedical Sciences, Ontario Veterinary College
  • Soha Moussa, School of Engineering, College of Engineering and Physical Sciences
  • Natasha Young, Aboriginal student adviser, Student Affairs

The new president is expected to be in place by summer 2020, when Franco Vaccarino will conclude his second term.

Among the Selection Committee’s first tasks are determining general characteristics and capabilities required in a candidate and soliciting comment from the University community. The committee will be supported by search firm Odgers Berndtson.

The committee will communicate regularly with the University community through the presidential search website.

To share confidential comments with the committee, email