Co-operative Education and Career Services has announced the winners of the University’s 2011 Co-op Awards.

Fourth-year student Christina Lippa is Co-op Student of the Year in commerce and marketing management. Third-year mechanical engineering student Lauren Patrick is Co-op Student of the Year in science and engineering.

These awards recognize a range of student achievements, including job and academic performance and contributions to employer, co-operative education and the community at large. Winners receive $500, a certificate and their name on an awards plaque.

The Collin Cureatz Memorial Award for Co-op Student Involvement, which recognizes contributions to the betterment of Guelph’s co-op program or to co-op student life, will be presented to fourth-year psychology student Alannah McGregor. She receives $250.

The 2011 Co-op Employer of the Year is The National Microbiology Laboratory – Public Health Agency of Canada. They have been a co-op employer for the past 10 years.

All award winners and nominees will be recognized at an awards reception March 22. The reception is part of National Co-operative Education Week which runs March 19 to 23.